Crynx ascend instant lifting spray review

CRYNX Ascend Spray: Instant Lifting Spray 30mL

Purchased for $55NZD

This product was recommended to me by a friend. I was complaining about how my face seemed to look chubby no matter how much weight I lost – especially my double chin!

She recommended a WeChat seller to me who stocked this product. It claims to:

  • Lift skin
  • Slim face
  • Brighten skin
  • Reduce wrinkles
  • Reduce dark under eye circles

So apparently it’s an all-rounder product!

Obviously I was skeptical and didn’t expect it to really live up to all of these claims. However, it’s quite popular amongst the Asian skincare community so I decided to dive a little deeper as to the credibility and effectiveness of the brand and product.

As shown on the side of the bottle, it claims to be a “product of Italy”. But it’s really a Malaysian brand. It may be (entirely or partially) manufactured in Italy but it’s definitely not an Italian brand.

When I do a quick Google search of the product and brand, it brings me to a badly designed website.

Upon closer inspection, the Crynx website claims that it has won various awards including:

  • Reader’s Choice award 2017
  • International Prestige Brand 2017
  • Golden Bull Award 2017
  • SME100 2017

Many Asian brands will claim winning bullshit awards that don’t really exist but after doing my research, it turns out these awards are actually quite high profile in Asia and the brand has indeed won them.

Here are the ingredients listed on the back of the bottle:

Aqua, Kigelia Africana Fruit Extract, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Pueraria Lobata, Root Extract, Dipeptide Diaminobutyroyl Phenoxyethanol, Citrullus Vulgaris, Watermelon Fruit Extract, Pyrus Malus Fruit Extract, Lens Esculenta Fruit Extract, Sodium PCA, Disodium EDTA, Beta-Glucan, Acetyl Hexapeptide-8, Hyaluronic Acid, Glyceryl Caprylate, Levulinic Acid, Pimpinella Anisum (Anise) Fruit Extract, Ethytheryl Glycerin, Acetyl Tetrapeptide-5

As you can see, it comes in a plastic pearl-coloured bottle. It feels cheaply made and not “heavy” as most luxury brands feel. Even pharmacy and supermarket brand bottles feel more well-made than this one. I guess it isn’t fair to judge a product solely based on its packaging though, so let’s move on.

The listed ingredients seem legit. For example, the Kigelia Africana is commonly used for skin tightening and blemishes. It has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties as well as various other medical uses. The Lens Esculenta Fruit extract is a skin conditioning agent with antioxidant properties and essentially nourishes the skin. Glyceryl Caprylate is an antimicrobial agent which moisturises and emulsifies skin. Laminaria Japonica Extract is also known for its fat-burning and moisturising properties whilst also eliminating toxins from the skin, preventing skin pigmentation and discolouration. Another fat burning ingredient is Pueraria Lobat which has been found useful in preventing obesity.

The product is starting to look promising!

The expiry date is listed on the bottom of the bottle as shown below.

To incorporate the product into your skincare regime, follow these steps:

  1. Face wash
  2. Toner
  3. Crynx Ascend Spray
  4. Serum/lotion
  5. Moisturiser

According to some sites, you can use it as a setting spray too over your makeup. I haven’t tried this yet so I can’t comment on how effective it is, but if you do try, let me know how it works for you!

I spray the product all over my face, spraying 2-3 times on my chin and neck area and once everywhere else. Remember to keep your eyes closed when spraying!

Don’t rub or pat the product in – just wait for it to air dry so that it absorbs better. You can fan the spray so it dries quicker if you’d like.

If you want to see the effects for yourself, spray on one side and wait 1 minute. Crynx claims that’s how long it takes for you to see results!

I find that the effects aren’t that obvious in photos and I haven’t personally noticed a huge difference in the “lifting” of my face. However, my face does feel more hydrated and my acne scars and discolouration have improved. I can feel that my skin is tighter after I spray it, although it’s not a very physically visible difference.

Many others have claimed that the effects are immediate and very powerful. See the pics below.

I’m unsure as to the legitimacy of these photos though, so do take that in mind before purchasing!

Apparently you need to use 3 bottles for the effects to be long-term. I say long-term rather than permanent as Crynx claims because it’s lasting effects are dependent on ageing, weight gain and other factors.

Summary

Although initially skeptical, an in-depth review of the ingredients show that the product formula is scientifically proven to be firming, hydrating and anti-oxidising. I have noticed that my skin appears smoother and my blemishes have been minimised. My skin is also firmer and more radiant. However, the slimming effects are not as prominent as I’d anticipated.

Recommended for

Those wishing to tighten and add moisture to their skin. Ideal for those aged early 20s to mid 30s.

Do not use if…

You are wanting to see lasting results with one bottle, or if you expect the slimming effects to be as strong as Crynx claims. Additionally, only purchase from verified sellers as there are many fakes on the market.

Leave a comment